CTSFW to Begin 171st Academic Year

Opening Service

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (CTSFW)—On Tuesday, September 6, 2016, the Concordia Theological Seminary (CTSFW), Fort Wayne, community will gather to celebrate the opening of the 171st Academic Year. The Opening Service will begin at 10:00 a.m. (EDT) in Kramer Chapel. CTSFW President Dr. Lawrence R. Rast Jr. will serve as preacher for the service. Those who cannot be with us on campus can watch live at www.ctsfw.edu/DailyChapel.

“Both our seasoned and newer faculty members are looking forward to the start of the new academic year. It is such a joy to see new and returning students on this beautiful campus as the summer draws to a close,” commented the Rev. Dr. Charles Gieschen, CTSFW academic dean. “We are incredibly grateful to God for the sacrifices made by each man and woman who is entering or continuing in our pastoral, deaconess and graduate programs. The faculty considers it a great privilege and responsibility to be used by the Lord in the formation of these men and women to be servants in Christ who teach the faithful, reach the lost and care for all.”

In addition to welcoming returning and first-year students, we will also be welcoming and installing new faculty and staff members. The Rev. Dr. Daniel P. May, president, The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod’s Indiana District, will preside over the installation of:

•Rev. James K. Fundum, Advancement Officer
•Mr. Lance C. Hoffmann, Advancement Officer
•The Rev. Dr. Benjamin T. G. Mayes, Assistant Professor of Historical Theology
•Rev. Mark H. Steiner, Advancement Officer
•Mrs. Gina K. Teeple, Deaconess Admission Counselor. She will also receive her commission as a deaconess.
•The Rev. Dr. Gary W. Zieroth, Assistant Professor of Pastoral Ministry and Missions, as well as Dean of Students and Director of Vicarage

We ask for your continued prayers and support as your Seminary begins another year of forming servants in Jesus Christ who teach the faithful, reach the lost and care for all.