Graduation Day at CTSFW

A stack of diplomas.

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (CTSFW)—The 173rd academic year at Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne (CTSFW), comes to a close in less than two weeks, on Friday, May 17, with commencement. The following schedule of events will take place in Kramer Chapel:

  • Baccalaureate, 10:00 a.m., the Rev. Dr. Wayne M. Braun of Fishers of Men Lutheran Church in Sugarland, Texas, preaching.
  • Commencement Organ Recital, 3:00 p.m., with Kantor Kevin Hildebrand as organist. (This will not be livestreamed. Open to the public in Kramer Chapel.)
  • Graduation Exercises, 6:00 p.m., the Rev. Jan Bygstad, one of this year’s graduation honorees, serving as commencement speaker.

The Rev. Jan Bygstad of the Lutheran Church in Norway (Den Lutherske Kirke i Norge) and the Rev. Dean M. Bell of Hendrum, Minnesota, will receive the Doctor of Divinity degree, honoris causa. The Miles Christi Award will be awarded to Mr. Keith Rupel of Elkhart, Indiana, and Dr. Andrew A. Nielsen of Oak View, California. The Rev. David A. Oester, pastor at Christ Lutheran Church in Oil City, Pennsylvania, is this year’s Alumnus of the Year.

Baccalaureate at 10 a.m. and Graduation Exercises at 6 p.m. will be livestreamed at and